Skip to main content

CCSO honors officers at awards banquet

Sunday, March 24, 2013 - 10:58am
Medals of Distinction

Dep. James Wilson and Dep. Laura Anstead were awarded the Medal of Distinction for their heroic actions in the line of duty

The Citrus County Sheriff's Office honored its law enforcement officers and fire officers for excellence during its annual awards banquet on Tuesday in the Citrus Springs Community Center.

Officers were given recognition for both length of service and distinguished service.

A special award was also given, the "Community Hero Award," to Krysten Dominy who, on March 5, 2012 was driving on Ozello Trail's narrow road and was passed by a vehicle traveling aggressively. Dominy noticed smoke coming from the rear of the car and shortly after it turned into a fireball.

The car came to a stop on the side of the road and a little girl was trapped in her seatbelt with her mother frantically trying to free the child.

The mother’s hair and clothes were on fire when Dominy jumped out of her car to help save the mother and young child. Dominy got the little girl out of the car, and had both the mom and girl roll on the ground to put the fire out.

She called 911, put the woman and the child in her vehicle in case there was an explosion, and drove them to her house to wait for the ambulance to arrive. Both mom and child suffered severe burns and were airlifted to Tampa General for care.

Medal of Distintion

The CCSO's highest medal, the Medal of Distinction, was given to Deputies James Wilson and Laura Anstead for their heroic actions in the line of duty.

On Feb. 23, 2012 Deputy Laura Anstead was dispatched to investigate a 911 hang-up call. Unknown to her, the caller, who was suffering from both psychological and physical impairments, was, according to the citation, staging a confrontation with a law enforcement officer in order to commit suicide by cop.

The caller met Deputy Anstead outside his residence and made veiled threats about who would win a confrontation. He was belligerent and wanted Deputy Newton to take note what appeared to be a semi-automatic handgun in his possession.

From the beginning to the end of this incident, the citation reads, Deputy Anstead displayed near-perfect reaction to each unfolding instant. You followed your training and policy protocols flawlessly in dealing with the suspect. You made a sharp assessment of the situation. You gave clear and concise verbal commands. There was no hesitation to protect yourself when threatened, and everything was done according to policy and training.

On Nov. 26, 2012 at 4:26 a.m., Deputy James Wilson was traveling south on County Road 491 when he witnessed a single-vehicle crash into a utility pole and burst into flames.

Deputy Wilson approached the vehicle and noticed that the elderly male driver was not able to exit the vehicle due to the amount of crash damage.

While the vehicle was on fire, Deputy Wilson reacted very quickly, broke out the passenger window, and pulled the driver to safety. The driver only suffered minor injuries, and was speaking with EMS upon their arrival. Without Deputy James Wilson’s quick reactions and disregard for his own safety, the citation reads, this situation might have been deadly.


Twenty Five Years:

Gary Atchison; Dave DeCarlo; Doug Dodd; Pam Ferguson; Nevin Jenkins; Chrissy Messer; Ken Perez; Elena Vitt

Twenty Years:

Pat Alford; Derrick Bogart; Ricky Grant; Steve Smolensky Fifteen Years Sherry Cook; Chris Evan; Buddy Grant; Kim Helms; Dale Johnson; Joe Labrador; Sherri Leahy; John Novy; Cheryl Peruche; Shannon Phillips; David Seidenstucker

Ten Years:

Jamie Brooks; Chris Dearden; Craig Fass; Nick Fiorentino; Jon Labelle; Diane Mitros; Travis Parsons; Brian Sanders; Craig Stevens

Five Years:

Dawn Alexander; Justin Alexander; Catherine Allen; Jacob Anderson; Matthew Baird; Bob Bessler; Chad Boham; Gary Bonick; Tom Bosley; Kennedy Boyer; Colin Brunner; Ken Clamer; Rick Claude; Chad Coleman; Julie Conley; Chris DiCamillo; Caleb Douglas; Greg Ellis; Wayne Fletcher; Kara Fowler; Ralph Franklin; Linda Fritz; Kim Fugate; Rachel Fults; Paul Gillum; Jim Goodworth; Michael Greer; Daniel Hochadel; Jonathan Holtzhouse; Tim Horton; Chase Hurst; Tim Kenney; Ken Lakatis; Liz Laughlin; Jeremy Laughlin; Brian Ledford; Keith Long; Ryan Maloney; Alfred McClendon; Kevin McDow; Bryan Melhado; Andy Moore; Jason Padua; Kevin Pappadouplos; Ashley Pate; Amanda Phillips; Lance Potter; Scott Prater; Tony Ricci; Keith Rigalo; Michael Robinson; Sam Ruby; Jonathan Seffern Jr; Michelle Shomer; Jason Strickland; Linda Tillis; Lisa Ventimiglia; Dan Weaks; LJ White; Steve Whitmeyer; Heather Yates; Craig Zacke

Other photos (Click each photo for larger sizes):

CCSO dive team award

Members of the dive team and marine unit were presented with a Certificate of Commendation for going above and beyond the call of duty to find a murder weapon in a high-profile homicide case. Pictured from left to right are: Training Coordinator John Clark, Dep. Terry Corbin, Dep. Shannon Phillips, Dep. Dale Johnson, Dep. Thomas Beagan, Dep. David Seidenstucker, Dep. Brian Coleman, Dep. Andy Cox, Det. Corey Davidson and Sheriff Jeff Dawsy.

Citizens Academy Alumni

The Citizens’ Academy Alumni Association presented the Sheriff with a check for $1,500 to sponsor the Awards Ceremony. Pictured from left to right are: Lt. Chris Evan, Pat Konicki, Treasurer, Sheriff Jeff Dawsy, Jonna Wing, President, and Capt. Doug Dodd.

Out-of-the-box thinking award

Detective Craig Fass received the prestigious Thinking Out of the Box award for his creative approach to decreasing burglaries linked to home solicitations.

Community Hero Award

Citrus County resident Kristyn Dominy was presented with the Community Hero award for pulling a child out of a burning vehicle.

25 years service

Ken Perez, Lt. Elena Vitt, Chrissy Messer, Pam Ferguson, Capt. David DeCarlo and Capt. Doug Dodd were presented with pins for twenty five years of service by Sheriff Dawsy. Not pictured, Dep. Gary Atchison and Dep. Nevin Jenkins.

Premium Drupal Themes by Adaptivethemes